A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Photo Equipment » Medium Format Photography Equipment
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old August 14th 07, 12:17 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
Noons
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,182
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Aug 14, 6:44 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:

Its not an exact match - the original bulb is thinner and longer.
Microtek rated
the bulb for 6000 hours. The driver board looks pristine, so I figure
its easy enough
to solder in the new one and try it.


Please let us know of the results.

  #12  
Old September 18th 07, 04:15 AM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
viewerofrecphoto
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Aug 14, 7:17 am, Noons wrote:
On Aug 14, 6:44 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:

Its not an exact match - the original bulb is thinner and longer.
Microtek rated
the bulb for 6000 hours. The driver board looks pristine, so I figure
its easy enough
to solder in the new one and try it.


Please let us know of the results.



I'm sorry to say, the new bulb did not make a difference. It does
light, sometimes, but after using it for a couple of scans, it goes
out and won't relight. Same behavior as the old bulb.

From what I can tell, the driver board has 3 inputs, Ground, CTL and

+12, so its not as easy as replacing it with an off the shelf inverter
board.

  #13  
Old September 18th 07, 12:45 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
Noons
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,182
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Sep 18, 10:09 pm, "Neil Gould" wrote:
Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:



On Aug 14, 7:17 am, Noons wrote:
On Aug 14, 6:44 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:


Its not an exact match - the original bulb is thinner and longer.
Microtek rated
the bulb for 6000 hours. The driver board looks pristine, so I
figure its easy enough
to solder in the new one and try it.


Please let us know of the results.


I'm sorry to say, the new bulb did not make a difference. It does
light, sometimes, but after using it for a couple of scans, it goes
out and won't relight. Same behavior as the old bulb.


From what I can tell, the driver board has 3 inputs, Ground, CTL and

+12, so its not as easy as replacing it with an off the shelf inverter
board.


Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.

If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn the
unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad capacitor
in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.

Thanks for the follow-up.


yeah, same feeling here...

  #14  
Old September 18th 07, 01:09 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
Neil Gould
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 262
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:

On Aug 14, 7:17 am, Noons wrote:
On Aug 14, 6:44 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:

Its not an exact match - the original bulb is thinner and longer.
Microtek rated
the bulb for 6000 hours. The driver board looks pristine, so I
figure its easy enough
to solder in the new one and try it.


Please let us know of the results.



I'm sorry to say, the new bulb did not make a difference. It does
light, sometimes, but after using it for a couple of scans, it goes
out and won't relight. Same behavior as the old bulb.

From what I can tell, the driver board has 3 inputs, Ground, CTL and

+12, so its not as easy as replacing it with an off the shelf inverter
board.

Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.

If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn the
unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad capacitor
in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.

Thanks for the follow-up.

Regards,

Neil


  #15  
Old September 18th 07, 01:31 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
viewerofrecphoto
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Sep 18, 8:09 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:
Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:



On Aug 14, 7:17 am, Noons wrote:
On Aug 14, 6:44 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:


Its not an exact match - the original bulb is thinner and longer.
Microtek rated
the bulb for 6000 hours. The driver board looks pristine, so I
figure its easy enough
to solder in the new one and try it.


Please let us know of the results.


I'm sorry to say, the new bulb did not make a difference. It does
light, sometimes, but after using it for a couple of scans, it goes
out and won't relight. Same behavior as the old bulb.


From what I can tell, the driver board has 3 inputs, Ground, CTL and

+12, so its not as easy as replacing it with an off the shelf inverter
board.


Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.

If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn the
unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad capacitor
in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.

Thanks for the follow-up.

Regards,

Neil


There are 2 caps on the driver board - one connects to the lamp output
and the transformer. Its labeled "1S 3KV SEC:". The "S" might be an
"8"

The other cap is near the input, between ground and +12V and is
labeled
".47uf 50V"

  #16  
Old September 18th 07, 03:01 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
Neil Gould
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 262
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:

On Sep 18, 8:09 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:

Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.

If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn
the unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad
capacitor in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.


There are 2 caps on the driver board - one connects to the lamp output
and the transformer. Its labeled "1S 3KV SEC:". The "S" might be an
"8"

This is a likely culprit. The key is the "...3KV...", or 3,000 volt
rating. All of the lamps had a trigger voltage higher than a couple
hundred volts, and it is typical that a capacitor such as this one would
feed a coil that connects to the lamp (you may be mistaking the coil for a
tranformer?). I'd replace this cap and see what happens.

The other cap is near the input, between ground and +12V and is
labeled
".47uf 50V"

I doubt that this cap would affect the problem at hand, but while you're
in there, replace it, too.

Neil



  #17  
Old September 18th 07, 03:25 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
viewerofrecphoto
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Sep 18, 10:01 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:
Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:

On Sep 18, 8:09 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:


Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.


If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn
the unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad
capacitor in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.


There are 2 caps on the driver board - one connects to the lamp output
and the transformer. Its labeled "1S 3KV SEC:". The "S" might be an
"8"


This is a likely culprit. The key is the "...3KV...", or 3,000 volt
rating. All of the lamps had a trigger voltage higher than a couple
hundred volts, and it is typical that a capacitor such as this one would
feed a coil that connects to the lamp (you may be mistaking the coil for a
tranformer?). I'd replace this cap and see what happens.

The other cap is near the input, between ground and +12V and is
labeled
".47uf 50V"


I doubt that this cap would affect the problem at hand, but while you're
in there, replace it, too.

Neil


i just ordered from Mouser. will report back...

  #18  
Old September 21st 07, 03:52 AM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
viewerofrecphoto
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 19
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Sep 18, 10:25 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:
On Sep 18, 10:01 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:



Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:


On Sep 18, 8:09 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:


Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.


If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn
the unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad
capacitor in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.


There are 2 caps on the driver board - one connects to the lamp output
and the transformer. Its labeled "1S 3KV SEC:". The "S" might be an
"8"


This is a likely culprit. The key is the "...3KV...", or 3,000 volt
rating. All of the lamps had a trigger voltage higher than a couple
hundred volts, and it is typical that a capacitor such as this one would
feed a coil that connects to the lamp (you may be mistaking the coil for a
tranformer?). I'd replace this cap and see what happens.


The other cap is near the input, between ground and +12V and is
labeled
".47uf 50V"


I doubt that this cap would affect the problem at hand, but while you're
in there, replace it, too.


Neil


i just ordered from Mouser. will report back...


The new capacitor is in. So far, I've scanned a couple of slides and a
couple of
negatives and it seems to be working. This is using the new bulb and
the scans
look fine, with no recalibration other than what Lasersoft does
automatically.
I also replaced the noisy fan, so I'm very happy.

Thanks for your help!

  #19  
Old September 21st 07, 04:56 AM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
Noons
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,182
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

On Sep 21, 12:52 pm, viewerofrecphoto wrote:
On Sep 18, 10:25 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:



On Sep 18, 10:01 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:


Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:


On Sep 18, 8:09 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:


Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.


If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you turn
the unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there is a bad
capacitor in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.


There are 2 caps on the driver board - one connects to the lamp output
and the transformer. Its labeled "1S 3KV SEC:". The "S" might be an
"8"


This is a likely culprit. The key is the "...3KV...", or 3,000 volt
rating. All of the lamps had a trigger voltage higher than a couple
hundred volts, and it is typical that a capacitor such as this one would
feed a coil that connects to the lamp (you may be mistaking the coil for a
tranformer?). I'd replace this cap and see what happens.


The other cap is near the input, between ground and +12V and is
labeled
".47uf 50V"


I doubt that this cap would affect the problem at hand, but while you're
in there, replace it, too.


Neil


i just ordered from Mouser. will report back...


The new capacitor is in. So far, I've scanned a couple of slides and a
couple of
negatives and it seems to be working. This is using the new bulb and
the scans
look fine, with no recalibration other than what Lasersoft does
automatically.
I also replaced the noisy fan, so I'm very happy.

Thanks for your help!


Thank you for sharing this information,
I'm sure it will be useful to others!

  #20  
Old September 21st 07, 12:48 PM posted to rec.photo.equipment.medium-format
Neil Gould
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 262
Default Microtek 120TF Scanner - no support

Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:

On Sep 18, 10:25 am, viewerofrecphoto wrote:
On Sep 18, 10:01 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:



Recently, viewerofrecphoto posted:


On Sep 18, 8:09 am, "Neil Gould" wrote:


Sorry to hear that the easy solution wasn't the fix.


If I follow what you've described, that it works soon after you
turn the unit on, but soon stops working, it sounds as if there
is a bad capacitor in the lamp's trigger voltage circuit.


There are 2 caps on the driver board - one connects to the lamp
output and the transformer. Its labeled "1S 3KV SEC:". The "S"
might be an "8"


This is a likely culprit. The key is the "...3KV...", or 3,000 volt
rating. All of the lamps had a trigger voltage higher than a couple
hundred volts, and it is typical that a capacitor such as this one
would feed a coil that connects to the lamp (you may be mistaking
the coil for a tranformer?). I'd replace this cap and see what
happens.


The other cap is near the input, between ground and +12V and is
labeled
".47uf 50V"


I doubt that this cap would affect the problem at hand, but while
you're in there, replace it, too.


Neil


i just ordered from Mouser. will report back...


The new capacitor is in. So far, I've scanned a couple of slides and a
couple of
negatives and it seems to be working. This is using the new bulb and
the scans
look fine, with no recalibration other than what Lasersoft does
automatically.
I also replaced the noisy fan, so I'm very happy.

Thanks for your help!

I'm glad you got it up and running again! Who knows... I might need to do
the same to my 120TF some day.

Neil



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MF Scanners - Microtek 120tf? hassy_user Medium Format Photography Equipment 12 February 15th 06 05:10 PM
ArtixScan 120tf Gregory W Blank Medium Format Photography Equipment 8 October 21st 04 06:47 PM
FA: Microtek Scanmaker 4 Colour SCSI Scanner Deborah Loth Digital Photo Equipment For Sale 0 February 3rd 04 04:33 AM
microtek Ken Weitzel Digital Photo Equipment For Sale 0 January 9th 04 08:56 PM
FS: Microtek Scanmaker III Charles Digital Photo Equipment For Sale 0 October 15th 03 01:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.