A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Digital Photography » Digital Photography
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Photoshop problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old February 8th 19, 12:45 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 21:48:48 +1300, Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop\ main\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
: 134 : REQUIRE failed".

Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


I have found the solution and found that the basic problem is that
Photoshop won't accept relative file addresses in the data file. My
data file was giving the addresses of the files as Face-1.psd,
Face-2.psd etc and this was giving Photoshop indigestion. I managed to
bulldoze my way through this at the trial stage by manually selecting
images and it was when I tried to run 'Apply' that I got the disk
error message. When I edited the data file to use absolute addresses
D:/Pictures/Coins/Test/Face-1.psd' etc it suddenly ran smoothly.

Pleasure. And thanks to all who have given me advice on this.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #12  
Old February 8th 19, 01:14 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 10:27:08 -0500, nospam
wrote:

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".


photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.


I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.


Possibly but I wanted to do other things as well which, as far as I
know, can only be done in Photoshop.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #13  
Old February 8th 19, 01:16 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 11:26:15 -0600, Savageduck
wrote:

Tony Cooper wrote:
On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 21:48:48 +1300, Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop\m ain\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
134 : REQUIRE failed".

Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


I really don't follow your problem, but I also have several hundred
photos of the front and back of coins. Each photo was given a file
name like 121-1855a or 121-1855b. 121-1855a is the face of a coin
minted in 1855 and 121-1855b is the obverse. The first number
indicates the coin is a $1.00 US gold coin and this is the 21st $1.00
US gold coin in the series. The $5.00 US gold coins have 5xx numbers
and so on.

There is a third photo in my series that is 121-1855s that is a photo
of the "slabbed" coin after it was sent to a professional grading
service. The 1855 Seated Liberty $1.00 gold coin is valued anywhere
from $225 to $7,000 depending on the grade assigned. The grading
service (PCGS) assigns a grade based on condition and seals the coin
in a container called a "slab".

I don't understand why a simple file-naming system would not display
the coins in the proper sequence using, say, Bridge.

I'm sure I misunderstand your problem, though.


All of what you have said makes sense to me, and should be a solution for
Eric’s sorting problem. However, the mystery of the ERROR remains what
seems to be a peculiar Windows issue.


Now that I have identified the cause, it is quite possible that it is
a Photoshop issue which is independent of the operating system.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #14  
Old February 8th 19, 03:47 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 10:47:26 -0600, Bill W
wrote:

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 21:48:48 +1300, Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop \main\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
: 134 : REQUIRE failed".

Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


Folder permissions again?


Nope. File addressing. That presumably was the disk area.
Photoshop was asking for a file and the disk could not recover it.
Hence 'disk error'.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #15  
Old February 8th 19, 04:12 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , MC
wrote:

It sounds like PS is suffering from some kind of bottle neck with
regards the amount of automation it is trying to handle. Now this
could be a weakness in PS itself, unable to process so many images at
once, but I would rather believe that it is down to disk/scratch disk
access speed rather than space on the disk itself. It could even be a
memory size/speed bottle neck. PS wants to do things as fast as it is
capable but if the hardware is stalling then PS will stall also, and
will top and complain about it.


that is highly unlikely. photoshop manages its own memory and scratch
space to avoid bottlenecks imposed by the operating system.

Have you tried smaller batches to see how PS handles them.


that's not the issue.
  #16  
Old February 8th 19, 04:12 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".


photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.


I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.


yep. i saw that. it was indeed a disk error because you didn't provide
an absolute path when one was expected.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.


Possibly but I wanted to do other things as well which, as far as I
know, can only be done in Photoshop.


such as?

you do realize that lightroom can round-trip to photoshop for such
things while still managing organization? perhaps not.
  #17  
Old February 8th 19, 04:12 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:


All of what you have said makes sense to me, and should be a solution for
Eric¹s sorting problem. However, the mystery of the ERROR remains what
seems to be a peculiar Windows issue.


Now that I have identified the cause, it is quite possible that it is
a Photoshop issue which is independent of the operating system.


it's not a photoshop issue.

photoshop wants an absolute path and you didn't provide one.
  #18  
Old February 8th 19, 04:12 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:


Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


Folder permissions again?


Nope. File addressing. That presumably was the disk area.
Photoshop was asking for a file and the disk could not recover it.
Hence 'disk error'.


because you gave it an incomplete path.
  #19  
Old February 8th 19, 08:53 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 23:12:18 -0500, nospam
wrote:

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.


I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.


yep. i saw that. it was indeed a disk error because you didn't provide
an absolute path when one was expected.


But everywhere else it was quite satisfied with a relative path.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.


Possibly but I wanted to do other things as well which, as far as I
know, can only be done in Photoshop.


such as?

you do realize that lightroom can round-trip to photoshop for such
things while still managing organization? perhaps not.

--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #20  
Old February 8th 19, 03:27 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.

I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.


yep. i saw that. it was indeed a disk error because you didn't provide
an absolute path when one was expected.


But everywhere else it was quite satisfied with a relative path.


that doesn't mean it always will.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
photoshop dvd problem [email protected] Digital Photography 2 January 19th 06 06:58 AM
Photoshop Elements 3 problem Greg Hazen Digital Photography 31 April 23rd 05 07:58 AM
Photoshop Elements 3 problem Greg Hazen Digital Photography 0 April 21st 05 02:10 PM
Nikon + Photoshop RAW problem! nrOne Digital SLR Cameras 5 April 14th 05 10:17 AM
Strange Photoshop problem The Duke Digital Photography 4 October 9th 04 04:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.