A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Digital Photography » Digital Photography
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Photoshop problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 7th 19, 08:48 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop\m ain\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
: 134 : REQUIRE failed".

Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?

--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #2  
Old February 7th 19, 09:57 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Savageduck[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16,487
Default Photoshop problem

Eric Stevens wrote:
I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop\m ain\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
134 : REQUIRE failed".


Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


To start with, I am not familiar with the vagaries of using Win on a mix of
drives when running Photoshop.

My understanding of what you are trying to do is to tag each image with ID
criteria for each coin, and a front/back tag for each side of each two
image set.

That should mean the simplest criteria should be two tags per coin image,
one for the coin, and a different one for each side, and that to
sort/arrange them using the coin ID tag should place the two images of each
side together.

Are you using a more complex variable tag system?

Where are your originals, and are you applying the ID as 'Keywords' or
something else?
--
Regards,
Savageduck
  #3  
Old February 7th 19, 10:30 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 03:57:56 -0600, Savageduck
wrote:

Eric Stevens wrote:
I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop\m ain\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
134 : REQUIRE failed".


Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


To start with, I am not familiar with the vagaries of using Win on a mix of
drives when running Photoshop.

My understanding of what you are trying to do is to tag each image with ID
criteria for each coin, and a front/back tag for each side of each two
image set.

That should mean the simplest criteria should be two tags per coin image,
one for the coin, and a different one for each side, and that to
sort/arrange them using the coin ID tag should place the two images of each
side together.

Are you using a more complex variable tag system?


None of that. I think the easiest way to explain it is to refer you to
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PYu...ature=youtu.be
and
https://helpx.adobe.com/nz/photoshop...external_files
or http://tinyurl.com/y835esu9


Where are your originals, and are you applying the ID as 'Keywords' or
something else?

--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #4  
Old February 7th 19, 03:27 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".


photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.
  #5  
Old February 8th 19, 01:14 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 10:27:08 -0500, nospam
wrote:

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".


photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.


I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.


Possibly but I wanted to do other things as well which, as far as I
know, can only be done in Photoshop.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #6  
Old February 8th 19, 04:12 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".


photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.


I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.


yep. i saw that. it was indeed a disk error because you didn't provide
an absolute path when one was expected.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.


Possibly but I wanted to do other things as well which, as far as I
know, can only be done in Photoshop.


such as?

you do realize that lightroom can round-trip to photoshop for such
things while still managing organization? perhaps not.
  #7  
Old February 8th 19, 08:53 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 23:12:18 -0500, nospam
wrote:

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.


I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.


yep. i saw that. it was indeed a disk error because you didn't provide
an absolute path when one was expected.


But everywhere else it was quite satisfied with a relative path.

and using lightroom for what you describe would be vastly easier.


Possibly but I wanted to do other things as well which, as far as I
know, can only be done in Photoshop.


such as?

you do realize that lightroom can round-trip to photoshop for such
things while still managing organization? perhaps not.

--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #8  
Old February 8th 19, 03:27 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Photoshop problem

In article , Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

photoshop passes along the errors that the os returns, so if it says
disk error, then you have a disk error. fix it.

I had already run CHKDSK /F and found no change. There are a multitude
of possible disk errors and in this case it turned out to not be a
hardware fault. I have described it elsewhere.


yep. i saw that. it was indeed a disk error because you didn't provide
an absolute path when one was expected.


But everywhere else it was quite satisfied with a relative path.


that doesn't mean it always will.
  #9  
Old February 7th 19, 04:47 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Bill W
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,692
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 21:48:48 +1300, Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop\ main\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
: 134 : REQUIRE failed".

Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


Folder permissions again?
  #10  
Old February 8th 19, 03:47 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Photoshop problem

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 10:47:26 -0600, Bill W
wrote:

On Thu, 07 Feb 2019 21:48:48 +1300, Eric Stevens
wrote:

I have 436 photographs of the front and back of coins. I am trying to
use variables to organise them in matched front and back pairs. Every
thing is going well until I get to apply the data sets when I get the
message "Could not apply the data set because of a disk error".

PSErrorLog.txt is full of records such as "2019:02:04 15:27:14 :
e:\ps\ps20\win64_release\20181219.r.30\photoshop \main\interfaces\utrackresouceimp.h
: 134 : REQUIRE failed".

Searches on the Internet suggest that it may be something to do with
the scratch file. Normally it is on drive C: which has 298GB free. I
have tried switching it over to D: which has 720GB free but it makes
no difference.

I have posted my problem on Adobe forums but so far have not received
any reply.

Does anyone have any idea of what my problem could be and what I can
do to fix it?


Folder permissions again?


Nope. File addressing. That presumably was the disk area.
Photoshop was asking for a file and the disk could not recover it.
Hence 'disk error'.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
photoshop dvd problem [email protected] Digital Photography 2 January 19th 06 06:58 AM
Photoshop Elements 3 problem Greg Hazen Digital Photography 31 April 23rd 05 07:58 AM
Photoshop Elements 3 problem Greg Hazen Digital Photography 0 April 21st 05 02:10 PM
Nikon + Photoshop RAW problem! nrOne Digital SLR Cameras 5 April 14th 05 10:17 AM
Strange Photoshop problem The Duke Digital Photography 4 October 9th 04 04:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.