A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Digital Photography » Digital Photography
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old May 31st 21, 05:38 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

In article , nospam
wrote:


That just goes back to my unfamiliarity with MacOS. I knew how to quickly
reboot, but not how to quickly turn networking on and off, even though Im
sure its pretty simple.


apple menu, system preferences, network preference pane.


and if it's wifi, use the wifi menu extra in the menubar to toggle it
off and back on.

also, hold down the option key when clicking on it for a *lot* more
info about your wifi network and the others (hover for the popup).
  #22  
Old May 31st 21, 06:31 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Savageduck[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16,487
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

On May 31, 2021, Alan Browne wrote
(in article ):

On 2021-05-31 10:55, RichA wrote:
On Sunday, 30 May 2021 at 15:17:17 UTC-4, Alfred Molon wrote:
Am 29.05.2021 um 16:30 schrieb Alan Browne:
Yep just like many all-in-one computers from various companies.
With the one I'm using now, I can upgrade the RAM, the SSD and the 3.5" HDD.
--
Alfred Molon


I loved where people who might want to increase/upgrade ram or a CPU are called, "geeks" by
Apple-sheep.


I've upgraded RAM on several Macs including this one, Macs at work, etc.

CPU's are another matter, but on most Mac Pros it is certainly doable.

It's theoretically possible to upgrade a 2020 i7 iMac to i9. No reports
that I can find that anyone actually did it.

There are a couple guys who managed to upgrade the RAM on an M1 Mac
Mini, but that is way beyond most people's skill set - and requires the
right sort of equipment to do it reliably.

IAC, I will order my new Mac with ample RAM for a 10 year run.


I just don’t understand how I managed to cram 32 GB of RAM into my iMac.

--
Regards,
Savageduck

  #23  
Old May 31st 21, 07:00 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Alan Browne[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 696
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

On 2021-05-31 12:29, Bill W wrote:
On May 31, 2021, nospam wrote
(in ) :

In article
, Bill W
wrote:

It has sort
of crashed once or twice, but rebooting cleared I up.

the app or the entire mac?

The entire Mac. I can1t remember exactly what happened, but I couldn1t do
much of anything anywhere. It was no big deal - I was able to use the
mouse
to reboot.

no way to diagnose that now, but nothing is perfect.

I finally remembered what actually happened - crippled internet connection.
I
kept getting messages of ³no internet², but I did have internet, just
very slow, and it was the same in Chrome, Safari, and apps. And my ISP was
fine on my phone and other computers. I had no idea what to look at, so I
rebooted, and that fixed it.


if it was network connectivity, then disabling/re-enabling networking
would likely have sufficed.


rebooting is a sledge hammer, when a small screwdriver is all that's
needed.


That just goes back to my unfamiliarity with MacOS. I knew how to quickly
reboot, but not how to quickly turn networking on and off, even though I’m
sure it’s pretty simple.

And for anyone reading this who might be in a similar situation as me -
living in a ruralish area - I got T-Mobile Home Internet, a cell based ISP. I
am admittedly within a mile of the nearest cell tower, but I do get over
100Mbps, and it’s only $60/month with no data caps or throttling. Verizon
has also started a similar service, but both are available only in limited
areas right now. I do recommend them. Good customer service, too from
T-Mobile.


100 Mbps (sustained? Try Ookla Speedtest against a test server 100 km
or so away) is pretty good considering it's cell.

Hmm - I'd be tempted to replace the cell antenna with a directional high
gain version and put it up on the roof aimed at the tower. You could
probably pick up 10 - 20 dB.
Gain improves bandwidth - as long as the ISP can pump it.

I found this
https://www.t-mobile.com/support/pub...rt%20Guide.pdf
Which does not break out the RF. Does have a GPS connection (to locate
the device for 911 services - I guess entering an address is too much
work...)

Is that what you have?

--
"...there are many humorous things in this world; among them the white
man's notion that he is less savage than the other savages."
-Samuel Clemens
  #24  
Old May 31st 21, 07:08 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Alan Browne[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 696
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

On 2021-05-31 13:31, Savageduck wrote:
On May 31, 2021, Alan Browne wrote
(in article ):

On 2021-05-31 10:55, RichA wrote:
On Sunday, 30 May 2021 at 15:17:17 UTC-4, Alfred Molon wrote:
Am 29.05.2021 um 16:30 schrieb Alan Browne:
Yep just like many all-in-one computers from various companies.
With the one I'm using now, I can upgrade the RAM, the SSD and the 3.5" HDD.
--
Alfred Molon

I loved where people who might want to increase/upgrade ram or a CPU are called, "geeks" by
Apple-sheep.


I've upgraded RAM on several Macs including this one, Macs at work, etc.

CPU's are another matter, but on most Mac Pros it is certainly doable.

It's theoretically possible to upgrade a 2020 i7 iMac to i9. No reports
that I can find that anyone actually did it.

There are a couple guys who managed to upgrade the RAM on an M1 Mac
Mini, but that is way beyond most people's skill set - and requires the
right sort of equipment to do it reliably.

IAC, I will order my new Mac with ample RAM for a 10 year run.


I just don’t understand how I managed to cram 32 GB of RAM into my iMac.


Miracles do happen.


--
"...there are many humorous things in this world; among them the white
man's notion that he is less savage than the other savages."
-Samuel Clemens
  #25  
Old May 31st 21, 07:17 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

In article .com,
Savageduck wrote:


I just dont understand how I managed to cram 32 GB of RAM into my iMac.


don't tell anyone, but the mac pro supports up to 1.5 terabytes of ram,
possibly more by using higher density chips that weren't available when
the mac was announced.
  #26  
Old May 31st 21, 07:26 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Bill W
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,692
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

On May 31, 2021, Alan Browne wrote
(in article ):

On 2021-05-31 12:29, Bill W wrote:
On May 31, 2021, nospam wrote
(in ) :

In article
, Bill W
wrote:

It has sort
of crashed once or twice, but rebooting cleared I up.

the app or the entire mac?

The entire Mac. I can1t remember exactly what happened, but I couldn1t
do
much of anything anywhere. It was no big deal - I was able to use the
mouse
to reboot.

no way to diagnose that now, but nothing is perfect.

I finally remembered what actually happened - crippled internet
connection.
I
kept getting messages of ³no internet², but I did have internet, just
very slow, and it was the same in Chrome, Safari, and apps. And my ISP was
fine on my phone and other computers. I had no idea what to look at, so I
rebooted, and that fixed it.

if it was network connectivity, then disabling/re-enabling networking
would likely have sufficed.


rebooting is a sledge hammer, when a small screwdriver is all that's
needed.


That just goes back to my unfamiliarity with MacOS. I knew how to quickly
reboot, but not how to quickly turn networking on and off, even though I’m
sure it’s pretty simple.

And for anyone reading this who might be in a similar situation as me -
living in a ruralish area - I got T-Mobile Home Internet, a cell based ISP.
I
am admittedly within a mile of the nearest cell tower, but I do get over
100Mbps, and it’s only $60/month with no data caps or throttling. Verizon
has also started a similar service, but both are available only in limited
areas right now. I do recommend them. Good customer service, too from
T-Mobile.


100 Mbps (sustained?
Try Ookla Speedtest against a test server 100 km
or so away) is pretty good considering it's cell.


Up to about 150, with slowest being over 50, but it’s almost always over
100.

Hmm - I'd be tempted to replace the cell antenna with a directional high
gain version and put it up on the roof aimed at the tower. You could
probably pick up 10 - 20 dB.
Gain improves bandwidth - as long as the ISP can pump it.

I found this
https://www.t-mobile.com/support/pub...-device/4G%20L
TE%20CellSpot%20Quick%20Start%20Guide.pdf
Which does not break out the RF. Does have a GPS connection (to locate
the device for 911 services - I guess entering an address is too much
work...)

Is that what you have?


No, it’s this: https://www.t-mobile.com/isp

It’s also “fixed” mobile. You cannot take it around with you, and must
be used in the service address only. There are reasons for that concerning
streaming services (Hulu, for one, and maybe the only one), and FCC regs
regarding “local” stations. But if you are anywhere near a T-Mobile
tower, look into it, and also look into the Verizon version, which is also
new. They are both serious competition for cable companies with monopoly
service in some areas.


  #27  
Old May 31st 21, 07:32 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
Bill W
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,692
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

On May 31, 2021, nospam wrote
(in ) :

In article
, Bill W
wrote:

I finally remembered what actually happened - crippled internet
connection.
I
kept getting messages of 3no internet2, but I did have internet, just
very slow, and it was the same in Chrome, Safari, and apps. And my ISP was
fine on my phone and other computers. I had no idea what to look at, so I
rebooted, and that fixed it.

if it was network connectivity, then disabling/re-enabling networking
would likely have sufficed.


rebooting is a sledge hammer, when a small screwdriver is all that's
needed.


That just goes back to my unfamiliarity with MacOS. I knew how to quickly
reboot, but not how to quickly turn networking on and off, even though I¹m
sure it¹s pretty simple.


apple menu, system preferences, network preference pane.

if the seemingly random arrangement of preference panes makes no sense
(quite likely) you can switch to alphabetical in the view menu. another
option is use the search field to find the relevant panes for whatever
setting you want to change.


Thanks for that - it never occurred to me to look for how to alphabetize
them.

And for anyone reading this who might be in a similar situation as me -
living in a ruralish area - I got T-Mobile Home Internet, a cell based ISP.
I
am admittedly within a mile of the nearest cell tower, but I do get over
100Mbps, and it¹s only $60/month with no data caps or throttling. Verizon
has also started a similar service, but both are available only in limited
areas right now. I do recommend them. Good customer service, too from
T-Mobile.


this might be of interest:
https://www.netgear.com/home/mobile-wifi/hotspots/mr1100/


Yep. I also have Google-Fi, and they send you free data sims with data that
gets charged to your cell plan. That’s another thing that can be very
useful to people who travel, including overseas, and who don’t want to
tether to their phone. Someone like Duck might find it useful on those trips
to SA.

  #28  
Old May 31st 21, 07:43 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

In article
, Bill W
wrote:

Its also fixed mobile. You cannot take it around with you, and must
be used in the service address only. There are reasons for that concerning
streaming services (Hulu, for one, and maybe the only one), and FCC regs
regarding local stations. But if you are anywhere near a T-Mobile
tower, look into it, and also look into the Verizon version, which is also
new. They are both serious competition for cable companies with monopoly
service in some areas.


starlink and starry internet are also serious competition.
  #29  
Old May 31st 21, 07:43 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

In article
, Bill W
wrote:

if the seemingly random arrangement of preference panes makes no sense
(quite likely) you can switch to alphabetical in the view menu. another
option is use the search field to find the relevant panes for whatever
setting you want to change.


Thanks for that - it never occurred to me to look for how to alphabetize
them.


nobody does.

there's a lot of non-obvious stuff, often hidden via various modifier
keys, like in the wifi menu extra.

a lot of hidden settings can be tweaked with this rather than their
command line equivalent:
https://www.bresink.com/osx/TinkerTool.html
  #30  
Old May 31st 21, 11:04 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Apple Macs: Can't upgrade, can barely repair them.

In article ,
RichA wrote:

new. They are both serious competition for cable companies with monopoly
service in some areas.

starlink and starry internet are also serious competition.


They should be shot down before they destroy the ability to use
over $50 billion in telescopes worldwide.


starlink doesn't do that and starry is entirely terrestrial and *can't*
do that even if it wanted to.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT - Macs are now being significantly targeted with malware Eric Stevens Digital Photography 5 March 17th 17 10:00 PM
Apple makes Macs run Windows XP [email protected] Digital SLR Cameras 123 April 16th 06 12:19 PM
Apple makes Macs run Windows XP - [email protected] Digital Photography 42 April 10th 06 01:10 PM
Broken Nikon N90 -- Repair, Replace, or Upgrade? Norm Dresner 35mm Photo Equipment 14 November 11th 05 09:15 PM
photo management software for Macs (OS X) JC Dill Digital Photography 11 March 11th 05 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.