A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Digital Photography » Digital Photography
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Copying 35mm slides



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 19th 06, 08:37 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

Hi

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.

Many thanks

--
P


  #2  
Old April 19th 06, 10:15 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

I would try setting the camera to macro and photograph them on a light
table.
See Slide Copy on my Nikon page. Hand holding the camer works pretty well
also.
http://www.photoprojects.net/index6.html
Gene

Hirundo wrote:

Hi

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.

Many thanks

--
P


  #3  
Old April 19th 06, 10:30 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

"Hirundo" writes:

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.


The best way to do this is to buy a slide scanner. For a large
collection of slides, the extra cost of the Nikon Super Coolscan 5000
ED plus the SF-210 stack feeder may be worth it -- running a stack of
50 slides unsupervised can save a lot of your time.

"Old slides" also strongly suggests that a scanner with ICE is
imperative. It'll save *hours* editing out dust, scratches, and
misc. grit.

You can get okay screen-resolution results using a camera and a slide
copier, or (even harder) a light source, macro lens setting, and slide
holder. This would be much cheaper than getting a good scanner,
obviously.
--
David Dyer-Bennet, , http://www.dd-b.net/dd-b/
RKBA: http://www.dd-b.net/carry/
Pics: http://dd-b.lighthunters.net/ http://www.dd-b.net/dd-b/SnapshotAlbum/
Dragaera/Steven Brust: http://dragaera.info/
  #4  
Old April 19th 06, 10:30 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.


You could try something like this:

http://tinyurl.com/c2et8

Malcolm


  #5  
Old April 20th 06, 03:32 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

You can do it with a camera, results aren't too bad, but you will only
get 14mb images, scanners will give you bigger, more flexible files. If
you only need the 14mb then you're fine, I have used a Nikon 995 for
doing files for PowerPoint presentation and only used half image size.
Be sure you are in macro mode and turn down your contrast settings in
the menu.
If you need images for multiple purposes I would recommend a scanner, I
was in the slide scanner mode until I got an Epson V700, very close to
a slide scanner at 100% I can tell the difference between the V700 and
my old Nikon LS2000 ( the 2000 at full res, the Epson at 2800ppi) The
Epson gives better dynamic range and is much faster. The Epson will
scan 12 slides at 2000ppi less than 20 minutes. The LS2000 would take
almost an hour.

Have fun
Tom

  #6  
Old April 20th 06, 09:09 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides


"tomm42" wrote in message
ups.com...
You can do it with a camera, results aren't too bad, but you will only
get 14mb images, scanners will give you bigger, more flexible files. If
you only need the 14mb then you're fine, I have used a Nikon 995 for
doing files for PowerPoint presentation and only used half image size.
Be sure you are in macro mode and turn down your contrast settings in
the menu.
If you need images for multiple purposes I would recommend a scanner, I
was in the slide scanner mode until I got an Epson V700, very close to
a slide scanner at 100% I can tell the difference between the V700 and
my old Nikon LS2000 ( the 2000 at full res, the Epson at 2800ppi) The
Epson gives better dynamic range and is much faster. The Epson will
scan 12 slides at 2000ppi less than 20 minutes. The LS2000 would take
almost an hour.

Have fun
Tom


Many thanks to all for the information.

--
P


  #7  
Old April 23rd 06, 07:47 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

On Wed, 19 Apr 2006 20:37:39 +0100, "Hirundo"
wrote:

Hi

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.


There are too many, "It all depends".
If you have a lot as in several thousand or more and you want high
quality then the dedicated film and slide scanner is still the best
way to go.

However if you are going for quality and scanning at least 4000 dpi
and 16 bit color depth then you are looking at roughly 120 - 130 megs
per image. That is a *lot* of storage.

http://www.rogerhalstead.com/scanning.htm might help and it's a lot
easier than typing here:-))

Good Luck,

Roger Halstead (K8RI & ARRL life member)
(N833R, S# CD-2 Worlds oldest Debonair)
www.rogerhalstead.com


Many thanks

  #8  
Old April 23rd 06, 06:06 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides


"Roger" wrote in message
...
On Wed, 19 Apr 2006 20:37:39 +0100, "Hirundo"
wrote:

Hi

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.


There are too many, "It all depends".
If you have a lot as in several thousand or more and you want high
quality then the dedicated film and slide scanner is still the best
way to go.

However if you are going for quality and scanning at least 4000 dpi
and 16 bit color depth then you are looking at roughly 120 - 130 megs
per image. That is a *lot* of storage.

http://www.rogerhalstead.com/scanning.htm might help and it's a lot
easier than typing here:-))

Good Luck,

Roger Halstead (K8RI & ARRL life member)
(N833R, S# CD-2 Worlds oldest Debonair)
www.rogerhalstead.com


Many thanks


Thanks again for all the helpful advice.

--
P


  #9  
Old April 23rd 06, 07:45 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

IF-ONLY wrote:
"Hirundo" posted


Hi

I have a large collection of old 35mm slides, which I would like to copy
onto the hard disc of my computer.

I would appreciate advise on the best way to do this. I currently use a
Nikon Coolpix 5700.

Many thanks



I bought a Epson 4990 Photo Scanner. It has Digital Ice Built into the
Hardware/Software. I no longer have to FIX my slides or photographs. I wanted
to buy a full fledged Slide scanner - but was talked into this one. It does
4800X9600 dpi. I enlarge all my slides to 8 by 10 inches for future used. They
almost look like they were taken with a digital camera.

I use a AMD64 X2 4400 chip with @ gigs of RAM. I can scan 8 slides at a time
half using Digital ice, and it takes about 20 minutes.

I am very happy with my Flatbed scanner that does slides very well.


http://www.epson.ca/cgi-bin/ceStore/...s&oid=49164280



I was considering a 4990 just the other day, although I couldn't see
much difference between the 4990 and the 4990 Pro models, although the
street prices suggest something is different.

--
jer
email reply - I am not a 'ten'
  #10  
Old April 24th 06, 03:44 PM posted to rec.photo.digital
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Copying 35mm slides

IF-ONLY wrote:
Jer posted


[SNIP]


I was considering a 4990 just the other day, although I couldn't see
much difference between the 4990 and the 4990 Pro models, although the
street prices suggest something is different.




Looks like the software package is a bit different. SilverFast® "Ai 6" and the
Monaco Ezcolor™, ArcSoft® PhotoStudio®, ArcSoft PhotoBase stuff.

I am pretty sure they are the same machine in "Specs"

I love mine . . .



Ah ha! You're right, I was just looking at the hardware. Thanks.

--
jer
email reply - I am not a 'ten'

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prosumer vs DSLR for copying slides qwert2b2 Digital Photography 3 November 6th 05 08:28 PM
Best format quality for copying slides & negatives Perk Digital Photography 3 November 3rd 05 10:52 PM
WTD: 35mm slides, most subjects Aaron J. Bossig 35mm Equipment for Sale 0 December 11th 03 06:12 AM
Filters, Resin vs. Ployester, and Portra Films, for Copying Slides Dan Wenz Film & Labs 1 October 23rd 03 08:02 PM
FA: Extenda-slide adapter for copying color slides with your camera Neil Bell 35mm Equipment for Sale 0 July 3rd 03 08:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2018 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.