A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Digital Photography » Digital Photography
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Canon A70...loose internal connector?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 4th 04, 02:41 PM
nafod40
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Canon A70...loose internal connector?

Yep, I have an A70. Just the other day (out of warranty, of course) I
started getting a psychedelic screen on my LCD. It wasn't just the LCD,
it's in the pictures I take.

Tried the universal repair method of gnetly tapping on top and sides,
and that fixed it. More tapping duplicates the error. Something is loose
in its innards.

I am loathe to send it off to Canon for a $100+ repair.

Anybody else ever have this problem? I downloaded the parts list with
the exploded view of hte A70 that someone else posted to the forum. Any
idea which connection might be the culprit? Or is it more likely to be a
poor solder joint on a board, in which case I'm probably screwed?

Wish I'd known about the A70 relaibility problems sooner, as in before I
bought it.

What would be a recommended replacement? Not a Canon, of course. I'd
like similar features, the ability to do movies with sound, 3+
megapixels, use AA batteries, and CF card.

  #2  
Old November 4th 04, 05:13 PM
Steve
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nafod40 wrote:
Yep, I have an A70. Just the other day (out of warranty, of course) I
started getting a psychedelic screen on my LCD. It wasn't just the
LCD, it's in the pictures I take.

Tried the universal repair method of gnetly tapping on top and sides,
and that fixed it. More tapping duplicates the error. Something is
loose in its innards.

I am loathe to send it off to Canon for a $100+ repair.

Anybody else ever have this problem? I downloaded the parts list with
the exploded view of hte A70 that someone else posted to the forum.
Any idea which connection might be the culprit? Or is it more likely
to be a poor solder joint on a board, in which case I'm probably
screwed?
Wish I'd known about the A70 relaibility problems sooner, as in
before I bought it.

What would be a recommended replacement? Not a Canon, of course. I'd
like similar features, the ability to do movies with sound, 3+
megapixels, use AA batteries, and CF card.


nafod40:

I replaced a defective A series Canon that Canon failed to repair 3 times
with a Nikon Coolpix 3100 and I do no regret the move away from Canon and
over to Nikon. As you found out the hard way, the A series Canons are not
known for their reliability. If you want to stick with CF, Nikon has
unfortunately replaced the 3100 with the 3200 which uses SD. If you can
find a 3100 (there are still some out there), then I highly recommend it.

Good luck,

Steve


  #3  
Old November 4th 04, 05:13 PM
Steve
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nafod40 wrote:
Yep, I have an A70. Just the other day (out of warranty, of course) I
started getting a psychedelic screen on my LCD. It wasn't just the
LCD, it's in the pictures I take.

Tried the universal repair method of gnetly tapping on top and sides,
and that fixed it. More tapping duplicates the error. Something is
loose in its innards.

I am loathe to send it off to Canon for a $100+ repair.

Anybody else ever have this problem? I downloaded the parts list with
the exploded view of hte A70 that someone else posted to the forum.
Any idea which connection might be the culprit? Or is it more likely
to be a poor solder joint on a board, in which case I'm probably
screwed?
Wish I'd known about the A70 relaibility problems sooner, as in
before I bought it.

What would be a recommended replacement? Not a Canon, of course. I'd
like similar features, the ability to do movies with sound, 3+
megapixels, use AA batteries, and CF card.


nafod40:

I replaced a defective A series Canon that Canon failed to repair 3 times
with a Nikon Coolpix 3100 and I do no regret the move away from Canon and
over to Nikon. As you found out the hard way, the A series Canons are not
known for their reliability. If you want to stick with CF, Nikon has
unfortunately replaced the 3100 with the 3200 which uses SD. If you can
find a 3100 (there are still some out there), then I highly recommend it.

Good luck,

Steve


  #4  
Old November 5th 04, 12:31 AM
tomcas
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nafod40 wrote:
Yep, I have an A70. Just the other day (out of warranty, of course) I
started getting a psychedelic screen on my LCD. It wasn't just the LCD,
it's in the pictures I take.

Tried the universal repair method of gnetly tapping on top and sides,
and that fixed it. More tapping duplicates the error. Something is loose
in its innards.

I am loathe to send it off to Canon for a $100+ repair.

Anybody else ever have this problem? I downloaded the parts list with
the exploded view of hte A70 that someone else posted to the forum. Any
idea which connection might be the culprit? Or is it more likely to be a
poor solder joint on a board, in which case I'm probably screwed?

Wish I'd known about the A70 relaibility problems sooner, as in before I
bought it.

What would be a recommended replacement? Not a Canon, of course. I'd
like similar features, the ability to do movies with sound, 3+
megapixels, use AA batteries, and CF card.

I'd like to offer to repair it for you, $30 if I fix it, $0 if I can't.
Problem is I can't figure out a way to assure you I'm not a scam artist.
You wouldn't happen to be located in Connecticut?
  #5  
Old November 5th 04, 12:31 AM
tomcas
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nafod40 wrote:
Yep, I have an A70. Just the other day (out of warranty, of course) I
started getting a psychedelic screen on my LCD. It wasn't just the LCD,
it's in the pictures I take.

Tried the universal repair method of gnetly tapping on top and sides,
and that fixed it. More tapping duplicates the error. Something is loose
in its innards.

I am loathe to send it off to Canon for a $100+ repair.

Anybody else ever have this problem? I downloaded the parts list with
the exploded view of hte A70 that someone else posted to the forum. Any
idea which connection might be the culprit? Or is it more likely to be a
poor solder joint on a board, in which case I'm probably screwed?

Wish I'd known about the A70 relaibility problems sooner, as in before I
bought it.

What would be a recommended replacement? Not a Canon, of course. I'd
like similar features, the ability to do movies with sound, 3+
megapixels, use AA batteries, and CF card.

I'd like to offer to repair it for you, $30 if I fix it, $0 if I can't.
Problem is I can't figure out a way to assure you I'm not a scam artist.
You wouldn't happen to be located in Connecticut?
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon forces me to buy Sigma ;-) Marius Vollmer Digital Photography 33 October 29th 04 11:05 PM
Canon 10D Art Salmons Digital Photography 15 October 20th 04 11:29 PM
Canon 10D lens choice and comments Art Salmons Digital Photography 3 October 17th 04 11:02 PM
Basic camera query: which one (Canon vs. Sony) MB_ Digital Photography 18 October 17th 04 10:57 PM
Canon 50 mm lens John McWilliams 35mm Photo Equipment 8 October 6th 04 04:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.