A Photography forum. PhotoBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » PhotoBanter.com forum » Digital Photography » Digital Photography
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 15th 15, 02:39 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning. Now LR loads the splash screen and (in the present case)
the PRINT page, and there it sticks. Hopefully, loud screams from
someone will get the problem sorted out.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #2  
Old October 15th 15, 03:05 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Savageduck[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16,487
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On 2015-10-15 01:39:29 +0000, Eric Stevens said:

Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning.


No it didn't. You had to have had some sort of auto-update enabled.

Now LR loads the splash screen and (in the present case)
the PRINT page, and there it sticks. Hopefully, loud screams from
someone will get the problem sorted out.


....but who do you scream at, Adobe, MS, or both?


--
Regards,

Savageduck

  #3  
Old October 15th 15, 03:17 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Bill W
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,692
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On Wed, 14 Oct 2015 19:05:12 -0700, Savageduck
wrote:

On 2015-10-15 01:39:29 +0000, Eric Stevens said:

Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning.


No it didn't. You had to have had some sort of auto-update enabled.


It's not quite that simple. MS is going to update your computer, and
you're going to like it!!!

But there's this:
http://www.howtogeek.com/224471/how-...ading-updates/

I haven't bothered with any of that yet, mainly because I haven't had
any real problems with the updates so far.
  #4  
Old October 15th 15, 03:26 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On Wed, 14 Oct 2015 19:05:12 -0700, Savageduck
wrote:

On 2015-10-15 01:39:29 +0000, Eric Stevens said:

Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning.


No it didn't. You had to have had some sort of auto-update enabled.


Yes it did. Auto-updating is set to automatic and you have to be some
kind of geek with geekish knowledge to know how to prevent it.

Windows 10 comes with no manual and not even a 'Help' system. As soon
as I got it I ordered a book which only arrived on Tuesday. So far I'm
on page 59 of 673 which is rambling on about all the new fun things
you can do with screen windows. When an update comes roaring down the
tracks I'm just left there staring into the headlights.

Now LR loads the splash screen and (in the present case)
the PRINT page, and there it sticks. Hopefully, loud screams from
someone will get the problem sorted out.


...but who do you scream at, Adobe, MS, or both?


So far I've only posed a question with in an Adobe forum. I would
rather have Adobe beating on Microsoft's door than me. For a start,
Adobe might know more about the problem than I do.
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #5  
Old October 15th 15, 03:31 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Savageduck[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16,487
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On 2015-10-15 02:17:56 +0000, Bill W said:

On Wed, 14 Oct 2015 19:05:12 -0700, Savageduck
wrote:
On 2015-10-15 01:39:29 +0000, Eric Stevens said:

Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning.


No it didn't. You had to have had some sort of auto-update enabled.


It's not quite that simple. MS is going to update your computer, and
you're going to like it!!!

But there's this:
http://www.howtogeek.com/224471/how-...ading-updates/


I

haven't bothered with any of that yet, mainly because I haven't had
any real problems with the updates so far.


It was just a thought on my part as I am not a Win operator. The other
question remains, who does Eric scream at, and in what order to get LR
up and running on his system?

--
Regards,

Savageduck

  #6  
Old October 15th 15, 03:34 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Savageduck[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 16,487
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On 2015-10-15 02:26:08 +0000, Eric Stevens said:

On Wed, 14 Oct 2015 19:05:12 -0700, Savageduck
wrote:
On 2015-10-15 01:39:29 +0000, Eric Stevens said:

Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning.


No it didn't. You had to have had some sort of auto-update enabled.


Yes it did. Auto-updating is set to automatic and you have to be some
kind of geek with geekish knowledge to know how to prevent it.

Windows 10 comes with no manual and not even a 'Help' system. As soon
as I got it I ordered a book which only arrived on Tuesday. So far I'm
on page 59 of 673 which is rambling on about all the new fun things
you can do with screen windows. When an update comes roaring down the
tracks I'm just left there staring into the headlights.


Oh Well! So a classic SNAFU.


Now LR loads the splash screen and (in the present case)
the PRINT page, and there it sticks. Hopefully, loud screams from
someone will get the problem sorted out.


...but who do you scream at, Adobe, MS, or both?


So far I've only posed a question with in an Adobe forum. I would
rather have Adobe beating on Microsoft's door than me. For a start,
Adobe might know more about the problem than I do.


That makes sense.

--
Regards,

Savageduck

  #7  
Old October 15th 15, 04:43 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
nospam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24,165
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

In article [email protected],
Savageduck wrote:

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning.


No it didn't. You had to have had some sort of auto-update enabled.


that's how windows 10 works.

it's possible to defer it but that would be stupid, especially now, on
the verge of threshold being released.
  #8  
Old October 15th 15, 07:57 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
David Taylor
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,146
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On 15/10/2015 02:39, Eric Stevens wrote:
Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning. Now LR loads the splash screen and (in the present case)
the PRINT page, and there it sticks. Hopefully, loud screams from
someone will get the problem sorted out.


As others have said, you can delay the reboot after Windows updates, or
even delay the installation altogether. Having said that, though.....

- if all other software works
- Adobe software does not

seems pretty obvious to whom your questions should be directed. You
would have hoped the money guzzlers like Adobe would have been more on
top of the game.

But next time, it may be wiser to wait a week before installing the updates.

--
Cheers,
David
Web: http://www.satsignal.eu
  #9  
Old October 15th 15, 09:06 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
Eric Stevens
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13,611
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On Thu, 15 Oct 2015 07:57:32 +0100, David Taylor
wrote:

On 15/10/2015 02:39, Eric Stevens wrote:
Loaded a new update for LR within the last two days. It worked OK.

A massive update of Windows 10/64 forced itself on to me first thing
this morning. Now LR loads the splash screen and (in the present case)
the PRINT page, and there it sticks. Hopefully, loud screams from
someone will get the problem sorted out.


As others have said, you can delay the reboot after Windows updates, or
even delay the installation altogether. Having said that, though.....

- if all other software works
- Adobe software does not

seems pretty obvious to whom your questions should be directed. You
would have hoped the money guzzlers like Adobe would have been more on
top of the game.

But next time, it may be wiser to wait a week before installing the updates.


That last sentence may apply to Adobe but I don't have much say in the
matter when it comes to Windows.

As far as the slight on Adobe is concerned, the latest update seemed
to work OK until Microsoft updated Windows. No doubt it will all sort
itself out, hopefully before Epson sorts out the missing color
profiles for the new SuperColor P-800. Did I tell you that
hispeed-fibre modem on my Internet connection threw a wobbly this
morning, right in the middle of the Windows10 update? No, I didn't,
but life has been exciting. :-(
--

Regards,

Eric Stevens
  #10  
Old October 15th 15, 09:24 AM posted to rec.photo.digital
David Taylor
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,146
Default Latest updates of Windows 10 and CC Light Room

On 15/10/2015 09:06, Eric Stevens wrote:
On Thu, 15 Oct 2015 07:57:32 +0100, David Taylor

[]
But next time, it may be wiser to wait a week before installing the updates.


That last sentence may apply to Adobe but I don't have much say in the
matter when it comes to Windows.


Yes, you do, see (for example):

http://www.askvg.com/fixing-windows-...stall-problem/

As far as the slight on Adobe is concerned, the latest update seemed
to work OK until Microsoft updated Windows. No doubt it will all sort
itself out, hopefully before Epson sorts out the missing color
profiles for the new SuperColor P-800. Did I tell you that
hispeed-fibre modem on my Internet connection threw a wobbly this
morning, right in the middle of the Windows10 update? No, I didn't,
but life has been exciting. :-(


If you believe the update to be corrupt, you could simply revert your PC
to the last system restore point, or use the Uninstall Updates option
(if you have that).

Any company which equates dollar and pound prices is simply
money-grabbing. If this no longer applies to Adobe, it's about time. I
gave up purchasing their products because of their pricing policy, and
whilst I can see the benefits of a subscription policy from a revenue
flow point of view, it's not a road I wish to go down as a customer.

--
Cheers,
David
Web: http://www.satsignal.eu
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light Room Problem - Serious - Please help (if possible) Eric Stevens Digital Photography 28 February 10th 15 04:20 AM
Daily updates JulioC Digital Photography 0 May 31st 07 12:08 AM
Adobe Light room Clive Digital Photography 1 July 8th 06 04:39 PM
Dark room light - Edison mount... Jed Savage In The Darkroom 4 November 22nd 04 09:21 PM
BlurryImage updates BlurryImage Admin Digital Photography 1 October 6th 04 12:08 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 PhotoBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.